Duplicating sections and section visibility

Created by Boris Chekaev, Modified on Thu, 11 Aug 2022 at 05:15 AM by Boris Chekaev

Introduction


You can use the Duplicate button in SIT Alemira Open edX Studio to duplicate a section and all its subsections and units.


Duplicating a section in a published course makes the section and its subsection immediately visible to the enrolled learners. All units in a duplicated subsection are in the Draft (Never published) state.


When you duplicate a section, all enrolled learners will immediately see the section and subsection, but not the unit in the draft state. Clicking the subsection will result in a Page not found message.


This is the default behavior.


The recommendation is to hide a duplicated section from learners until you are ready to publish it.


How-to


To hide a section:



  1. Log in to SIT Alemira Open edX Studio.

  2. Navigate to your course.

  3. Click the settings gear icon next to the section that you want to hide.

  4. Click Visibility > Hide from learners.


Additional information


By default, sections and subsections are available to all enrolled learners in a published course.


The draft and published states do not apply to sections and subsections; they only apply to units.

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article